Salisbury City Council is the Parish Council for the City of Salisbury. There are 23 elected City Councillors who represent eight wards.

The last local election took place on 4 May 2017.  Please click here to view the election results.   

To view the Member's Register of Interests please click here

To view your Wiltshire Councillor for your area please click here.


Matthew Dean

Matthew Dean
Ward: St Pauls
Political Party: Conservative

Contact Details:

07742 830650

Committee Membership:

Services Committee, Policy & Resources Committee

Outside Representative: Conservation Advisory Panel, Markets Liaison Panel 

To view this Councillor's Register of Interest please click here


Councillor Matthew Dean lives and works in the St Paul's ward of Salisbury having first moved to Wiltshire in 1988. He recently renovated and re-opened the then derelict Duke of York public house in Salisbury which now trades as a family pub specialising in selling locally produced ales and ciders.

Matthew has served as a Unitary Councillor with portfolio responsibilities including Town Planning, Waste, Highways & Parking, Environmental Health, Bereavement Services and as Chairman of Governors for a pre-school. He has assisted MPs including Cabinet Ministers with speech writing and policy making and as an active member of the Town and Country Planning Association. Matthew is Chairman of the St Paul's Residents Association and a member of CAMRA, the Campaign for Real Ale. He is particularly interested in sustainable development and environmental issues.

Committee Membership:

Human Resources Sub Committee; Policy & Resources Committee; and Services Committee

Outside Representative: 

Economic Task Group; and Salisbury BID