Salisbury City Council is the Parish Council for the City of Salisbury. There are 23 elected City Councillors who represent eight wards.

The last local election took place on 4 May 2017.  Please click here to view the election results.   

To view the Member's Register of Interests please click here

To view your Wiltshire Councillor for your area please click here.


John Baber MBE

John Baber MBE
Ward: St Marks and Bishopdown
Political Party: Conservative

Contact Details:

07581 523135

To view this Councillor's Register of Interest please click here.


John comes from a military family, went to public school in Somerset and then to the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst. He was subsequently commissioned into the Royal Corps of Transport. After ten years with the RCT he transferred into the Royal Military Police served all over Europe and in Northern Ireland. He was awarded the MBE on the Operational Awards list of 1993. John's police interests were crime prevention and youth engagement. On retirement from the Regular Army he became the Regimental Secretary for the Royal Military Police and Director of the Royal Military Police Museum. He also took a Volunteer commission and spent ten years with the Army Cadet Force. Initially he was appointed Deputy Commandant to Hampshire and Isle of Wight ACF and after four years was promoted and appointed to be the Commandant of the Sussex ACF.

John is now fully retired although he continues to be a trustee for three military charities.   Married with two daughters, one a police Officer the other an Army Officer. His wife was a science teacher and still is a dyslexic support tutor.

John's interests are of course The Royal Military Police Association of which he is the current Chairman, rugby, military history and target shooting (having shot for the ACF, the Army and the country over the years!). In Salisbury his interests take him to the Cathedral where he is a Cathedral and Tower guide.

Committee Membership:

Appeals Sub Committee; Human Resources Sub Committee; and Planning & Transportation Committee

Outside Representative: 

CCTV CIC (Community Interest Company)